

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY • GOVERNOR EDMUND G, BROWN JR.

CALIFORNIA STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2010 | Sacramento, CA 95815 Phone: (916) 263-2195 | Fax: (916) 263-2197 Website: www.dca.ca.gov/csac | Email: csac@dca.ca.gov



Members of the Commission John Carvelli, Chair Mary Lehman, Vice Chair John Frierson Martha Shen-Urquidez Van Gordon Sauter Vernon Williams, MD Luis Ayala

Agenda items may be taken out of order the agenda except public comment. Action may be taken on any item listed on

CALIFORNIA STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

TELECONFERENCE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, September 30, 2015 10:00 a.m. - Conclusion of Business

Location(s):

California State Athletic Commission

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2010 Sacramento, CA 95815

Kerlan-Jobe Orthopedic Clinic 2400 E. Katella Avenue, Suite 400 Anaheim, CA 92806

> *Starbucks Coffee* 2265 Huntington Drive San Marino, CA 91108

Marriott Desert Springs 74-855 Country Club Drive Palm Desert, CA 92260

Starbucks Coffee 3242 West Cahuenga Boulevard Los Angeles, CA 90068

> Higher Ground Coffee 54245 North Circle Drive Idyllwild, CA 92549

Hampton Inn Sacramento 3021 Advantage Way

Sacramento, CA 95834

Commissioners Present

Chair John Carvelli Vice-Chair Mary Lehman Commissioner Van Gordon Sauter Commissioner Luis Ayala Commissioner Martha Shen-Urquidez Commissioner Vernon Williams, MD

Commissioners Absent

Commissioner John Frierson

Staff Present

Andy Foster, Executive Officer Gary Duke, Legal Counsel

OPEN SESSION

Agenda Item 1 – Call the meeting to Order / Roll Call / Pledge of Allegiance

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. and a quorum was present.

Agenda Item 2 – Welcome – Chairman's Opening Remarks

Chairman Carvelli congratulated Executive Officer Andy Foster for winning the Association of Ringside Physicians "Outstanding Contribution to Boxing and MMA" award. He also invited the Commissioners to the Athletic Inspector training in Valencia, CA on October 18, 2015.

Agenda Item 3 – Pursuant to Government Code Section 18645 the Commission will conduct appointment(s)/reappointment(s) of the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards

Commissioner Williams presented the Commission with a report and recommendation on the candidates eligible for appointment to the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards.

After much discussion, the Commission started their nominations and voting.

Vice-chair Lehman motioned to appoint Dr. Rhonda Rand to the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards for a term of one (1) year; Commissioner Williams seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

Commissioner Williams motioned to appoint Dr. Rudolph-Bear Gamboa to the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards for a term of one (1) year; Vice-Chair Lehman seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

Commissioner Shen-Urquidez motioned to appoint Dr. Jerome Lisk to the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards for a term of one (1) year; Vice-Chair Lehman seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

Vice-chair Lehman motioned to appoint Dr. Brian Estwick to the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards for a term of one (1) year; Commissioner Ayala seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

Commissioner Shen-Urquidez motioned to appoint Dr. Jonathan Schleimer to the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards for a term of one (1) year; Vice-Chair Lehman seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

Chairman Carvelli appointed Dr. Diego Allende as an official consultant for the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards.

Agenda Item 4 – Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda

There was no public comment.

ADJOURNMENT